Unusually doing Household Chores: Stages of Change

19 04 2011

Prochaska’s Stages of Change (Prochaska & colleagues 1994)

I am damn lazy person. I don’t fix my bed. I don’t clean my room. I don’t do my dishes. I only shave every 7 days and I don’t put deodorant if  I don’t go out. But just recently, I was beginning to get back in shape, even started organizing my emails, washed some of my dishes and fixed by bed after I woke up. I really doing the works on me, like an old car getting tuned up.

Stage 1: “Neighborhood Watch” (PRECONTEMPLATION)

I have a huge pride. It felt like the whole neighborhood noticed one thing, I am a lazy.

My mom, dad, younger brother , colleagues was telling me over and over,

“Armand, ang tamad mo.(Armand, your so lazy)”, or “Dude, get out of your cave zone, tama na procrastination(stop your procrastination.)”

and I used to reply, well  actually mind would actually reply,

“Screw you!” or “F**k You, mess with your own life.”

but all along I knew I was really really super lazy, I just would not want to change and admit it.

*This is either a denial of the problem, or an awareness of the problem with an unwillingness to change.


Stage 2: ANGELs’ vs. DEMONs’ (CONTEMPLATION)

But in some kind of miracle, an angel went down from heaven and hit me on the head with slug hammer, I was broke. My B.U.M. mode resulted in me being broke big time.

I said “Damn, this needs to change”, but a demon inside me is telling me  scary stories of change. I was beginning to get spoked off by thinking  about the uncomfortable moments I will be experiencing.

I can’t even imagine myself, getting out of the Cave Zone/ House and work on my business.

*There is an awareness of a problem, an understanding of the pros and cons of change, yet there is a fear of change.


Stage 3: “TRAINING FOR BATTLE”‘ (PREPARATION)

Just last week, I started re-fixing myself. I wrote my personal goals on my personal blog again, pumped iron for 2 hours, wrote my plans on my qwerty phone and I even writing/drawing my online and offline strategies for getting my business back on it’s feet.

Reading blogs also helped, special mention to Srini and the Skool of Life, plus some visit to my mentors at one of our regular meetings, did a good job a getting my mindset back on track.

*There is a clear awareness of the problem and the need to learn how to change.


Stage 4: “BLOGGING” (ACTION)

In a lot of ways, starting Lifestyle scientist is slowly but surely waking me up with my harsh reality. That is why I keep on blogging.

Most of my blogs and upcoming blogs on Lifestyle Scientist  are actually plans and targets I will be executing. Some are reflections and reviews of what happened to my experimentation or action.

*The person starts to terminate unhealthy behaviors and develop new, more positive behaviors.

Stage 5: “180 day project” (MAINTAINANCE)

“Now, however, there is some psychological research on this question in a paper recently published in the European Journal of Social Psychology. Phillippa Lally and colleagues from University College London recruited 96 people who were interested in forming a new habit such as eating a piece of fruit with lunch or doing a 15 minute run each day Lally et al. (2009). Participants were then asked daily how automatic their chosen behaviours felt. These questions included things like whether the behaviour was ‘hard not to do’ and could be done ‘without thinking’.

When the researchers examined the different habits, many of the participants showed a curved relationship between practice and automaticity of the form depicted below (solid line). On average a plateau in automaticity was reached after 66 days. In other words it had become as much of a habit as it was ever going to become.

This graph shows that early practice was rewarded with greater increases in automaticity and gains tailed off as participants reached their maximum automaticity for that behaviour.

Although the average was 66 days, there was a marked variation in how long habits took to form, anywhere from 18 days up to 254 days in the habits examined in this study.”-From PSY Blog

*Action behaviors are practiced and continually reinforced until they become automatic and last for an extended period of time.


Continuity gives us roots; change gives us branches, letting us stretch and grow and reach new heights. ~Pauline R. Kezer

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

