Driving in an Endless Road

23 04 2011

Do you get in your car and drive-off without a destination? The only time you would stop is because you are tired from the endless drive, a you saw something interesting or  you were hungry or  you needed the bathroom break. I did. I just took the road where life would want to take me.

Trapped in an Endless Road

My former life had no direction of whatsoever. After high school graduation, I chose physical education as my bachelors degree because It was the only thing that will not bore me during college and  I did not know what direction my career after undergrad.

I also played a lot of  sports from Ultimate -Frisbee for 1 and a half, Basketball for most of my life, Badminton for 2 years, Soccer for a year, Futsal for a year, Skin Diving  for a year but sadly, I never was able to focus on one sport and  never excelled on one that much.

Rerouting 

When I turned 21 on September 2009, my own  version of a mid life crisis is starting to take it’s place. I began questioning my life’s existence, I had doubts of whether I had worth in this world, I had questions like, What meaning should my life be? Where do I want to go? What do I really want to do? What am I for?

It was  a heck of an emotional and spiritually challenging year for me.  It forced me to stretch out, look for answers, options and advice. Seek for guidance, read personal help books, watch personal help videos and I even found my self joining online groups and online  communities.

New Direction

January 2010, was the first year of change. I began by writing my “goals” on my first ever planner. Though they were not that big but I made sure they were  meaningful. One of my favorite was “reading 4 personal self-help books” and I would go on to read “21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership”, “The Game”, “How to win Friends and Influence People” and “Law of Connection”.

Writing my route gave a different approach to life, a sense of accomplishing, a results oriented mindset and a life of endless growth. For once in my life, I new where I would be going, I understood what I should be doing right here, right now because I did feel lost anymore.

Our goals can only be reached through a vehicle of a plan, in which we must fervently believe, and upon which we must vigorously act. There is no other route to success.Stephen Brennan

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 06 2011
Hugo Martins

Hey Armand,

I have a little question: when you wrote your goals, did you write your major goals? How did you deal with the minor goals and the stuff you have to get through with to achieve your major goals?

Thanks.

22 06 2011
armandpolanski

Thank you for dropping in that question.

Yes, I wrote my major goals first and my minor goals followed , this what my mentor called the “Merlin Principle”. It’s a way of planning your life through seeing the future first and working your way backwards to see what minor goals and possible challenges you would run into to get your desired result.

I will be posting about “Merlin Principle” soon. Have a great week ahead of you.

Armand Polanski

9 06 2011
Paul

Good for you Armand. I really wish I had the foresight to write down some concrete career goals when I was 21. But better late than never I suppose.

10 06 2011
armandpolanski

We can have some regrets of our Paul but the only thing we can do is make the best out of what we have.

I was fortunate enough to have been introduced to leadership and goal setting at early stage, I think it came at a time that I was ready for it, sometimes things like this we learn and realize when we are looking for it or is open to the idea.

Leave a Reply

